Halloween is becoming a safer holiday in more cities across the country.
The government recently passed a law in Chesapeake, Virginia, and will be strict about who can and cannot go trick-or-treating. Punishment is potential jail time for trick-or-treaters over the age of 12.
According to the city ordinance code, ‘anyone over the age of 12 who participates in trick-or-treating or any similar activity “shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.”
The ordinance also states that “an individual trick-or-treating after 8 p.m. will be guilty of a misdemeanor and punished by up to a $100.00 fine or jail time of up to 30 days, or both.”
There are cities in New Jersey and North Carolina that also have curfews as well as strongly advising age limits of 12 years old and younger.
Some are saying these rules are too strict but there are some who actually do agree with the age restrictions.
There was a poll conducted in 2016 about this very issue. “More than 2,000 readers responded to TODAY Parents’ non-scientific poll about kids, their ages, and where they fit in when it comes to hitting up neighbors for candy,” Terri Peters wrote.
“And while parents did not agree on an age range when kids are too old for trick-or-treating, 73 percent of those surveyed agree that somewhere between the ages of 12 and 17, kids should call it quits.”
See how residents in one New Jersey city are reacting to the suggested curfew and age limit. What are your thoughts on Halloween trick or treating?